About the Data Sharing Workshops

The National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) awarded State and Local Implementation Grant Program (SLIGP) funds to states to continue planning for the nationwide public safety broadband network (NPSBN). The SLIGP was created under the Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012 (Act). SLIGP is designed to provide resources to assist regional, state, local and tribal government entities in planning for the NPSBN under development by the First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet®).

In 2018, NTIA awarded a second round of grants (SLIGP 2.0) for states to acquire resources to work with stakeholders throughout the state to identify needs, gaps, and priorities for data sharing and preparation for use of the NPSBN.

With the grant award from the SLIGP 2.0, the North Carolina Department of Information Technology’s Broadband Infrastructure Office (NC DIT) is conducting data sharing workshops with the goal of enhancing data sharing across the State. NC DIT envisions that stakeholders serving in direct and indirect support functions at municipal, regional, state, and federal, and tribal levels will be part of these meaningful workshops. Non-public safety participants and contributors include technical and geographic information system department staff, municipal/regional/state utilities and commercial service providers, and federal response and recovery agency representatives.

The purpose and agenda of the workshops will be to engage and leverage existing regional and interstate/inter-territory bodies to identify potential public safety broadband users and help them prepare for data sharing. The goals of the workshops are:

  • Identify gaps and challenges in data sharing strategies
  • Explore the scope and role of agencies planning data sharing across NPSBN
  • Identify data sources and tools such as geographic information systems and computer-aided dispatch that might be beneficial and/or present challenges to public safety data sharing

The workshops will take place in each of the emergency management domestic preparedness regions (DPRs).